Monday, March 30, 2015

Women of Distinction Awards

The number of influential Hispanic women in business and in leadership roles across the country continues to grow. Latinas are firmly established players in this country’s economic, political, leadership, and social landscape.

Each year at the Annual Convention TAMACC honors a Business Woman of the Year; but TAMACC’s leadership realized this is not enough. Hispanic women are making enormous contributions in this country. Therefore, TAMACC has created this program that recognizes the accomplishments, contributions, and positive impact that Texas Hispanic women have made in our country and the world.

TAMACC’s Women of Distinction Awards was created in 2012.

2015 Women of Distinction

Nominations are now being accepted. Please download the application and follow the instructions to submit a nominee.


The Women of Distinction Nomination may be made by the individual or on behalf of the individual. The awardees must be in attendance at the Women of Distinction Awards Luncheon. The date will be on a Friday in May – the date is still to be determined – from 11:00 AM to 1:00 PM in Austin, Texas. The twelve (12) awardees will be announced in advance and will receive two (2) complimentary tickets to attend the luncheon.

Please complete the downloadable form and provide an electronic headshot to Limit each of your answers to 500 words or less. You may provide pictures and letters of recommendation. The Nomination Package is to be mailed to TAMACC, Post Office Box 41780, Austin, Texas 78704 and must be received on or before April 10, 2015.

2014 Women of Distinction Honorees

Women of Distinction Honorees 2014

Left to Right – Back Row: Adelita Figueroa-Munoz, County Extension Agent – Family and Consumer Service, Texas A&M University Agri-Life Extension; Rosie Gonzalez Collin, Public Relations Executive, Citgo Refinery; Patsy Torres, Ph.D., Owner and Director, Positive Force Tour, Inc.; Cecilia Castellano, President and CEO, AZTECA Designs, Inc.

Left to Right – Front Row: Margarita De Leon, Entrepreneur, Dona Tota Restaurants and Products; Mercy Murguia, Potter County Commissioner – Precinct Two, Potter County; Stephanie Hernandez, National Business Manager, National Latino Peace Officers’ Association; Evelina Solis, Founder and President, Sol2Soul.

Not Pictured: Marie Diaz, President and CEO, Pursuit of Excellence; Veronica Escobar, County Judge, El Paso County; Sally Hurt-Deitch, President and CEO, Sierra Providence East Medical Center; Liliana Rambo, Parking Director, City of Houston Airports System.

2013 Women of Distinction Honorees


Left to Right – Back Row: Yahaira Rodriguez, Consultant/Life Coach, Life Coaching to Succeed; Angela Valenzuela, Ph.D., Professor, The University of Texas; Yesenia Violeta Mercado, Office Manager, Insurance Agency Mall PC; Anna Arredondo Chapman, Deputy City Secretary, City of Del Rio; Martha Rochford, Area Business Banking President, Wells Fargo; Rebecca Contreras, President and CEO, AvantGarde and Company, Founder of LaunchPad The Center for Hope and Building Dreams

Left to Right – Front Row: Diana M. Maldonado, President, Maldonado Strategies LLC, and Senior Advisor, Heartland Solutions Group; Eva M. Guzman, Justice, Supreme Court of Texas; Carmen Garcia, Outreach Director, Dallas Area Rapid Transit; Linda Matcheski, Executive Assistant and Liaison for the Board of Directors, TDECU-Your Credit Union; Dolores “Dee” Leal, Consultant/Instructor/Trainer, D & E Consulting and Training; Rose M. Ramirez, Program Director, Silver Ribbon Community Partners

2012 Women of Distinction Honorees


Left to Right – Back Row: Veronica Gonzales, State Representative District 41; Linda Valdez Thompson, Executive Vice President, Administration & Diversity, Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport; Maria Luisa “Lulu” Flores, Attorney-at-Law, Law Firm Partner, HendlerLaw, PC; Anna “Michele” Bobadilla, Senior Associate Vice President for Outreach Services and Community Engagement, Assistant Provost for Hispanic Student Success, Office of the Provost, The University of Texas at Arlington; Ana Yanez-Correa, Ph.D., Executive Director, Texas Criminal Justice Coalition

Left to Right – Front Row: Margarita A. Licon, President and CEO, Licon Engineering Company; Dora G. Alcala, Vice Chair of Legislative & Governmental Affairs, Del Rio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce; Liz Lara Carreno, President, LLC Strategies; Lupe Morin, Executive Director, Hispanic Women’s Network of Texas; Astrid E. Cardona, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Biology, The University of Texas at San Antonio, South Texas Center for Emerging Diseases; Janie Barrera, President and CEO, Accion Texas, Inc.

Not Pictured: Mary Ellen Londrie, Founder and CEO, P3S Corporation; Lora J. Villarreal, Ph.D., Executive Vice President and Chief People Officer, Xerox Corporation